Prince of Wales Island International School, Penang, Malaysia

Term Dates

Click here to download the School

Term Dates 2016-2017

Term Dates 2017-2018

 

TERM DATES 2016-2017


 

Term 1

Monday 5th September, 2016 to Friday 16th December, 2016: term ends at 3.40 pm.
(Boarders arrive 3.30 pm Sunday 4th September)

New teacher induction Monday 29th and Tuesday 30th August.
Teacher training Thursday 1st and Friday 2nd September.

 

Half Term
Saturday 22nd October to Sunday 30th October (including Deepavali)*
(Boarders’ Half Term: 3.40 pm Friday 21st October to 6.00 pm Sunday 30th October. School Closed)**

 

Open day
Saturday 1st October

 

Public Holidays
Monday 12th September (Hari Raya Haji)
Friday 16th September (Malaysia Day)
Monday 3rd October (Awal Muharam in lieu)
Monday 12th December (Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday)

 


 

Term 2

Monday 9th January, 2017 to Friday 7th April, 2017: term ends at 3.40 pm.
(Boarders return 6.00 pm Sunday 8th January)**

 

Term Break 1 (including Chinese New Year)*
Friday 27th January to Tuesday 31st January
(Boarders’ break: 3.40 pm Thursday 26th January to 6.00 pm Tuesday 31st January. School Closed)**

 

Term Break 2
Friday 10th March to Monday 13th March
(Boarders’ break: 3.40 pm Thursday 9th March to 6.00 pm Monday 13th March. School Closed)

 

Public Holidays
Thursday 9th February & Friday 10th February (Thaipusam)

 


 

Term 3

Monday 24th April, 2017 to Friday 14th July, 2017: term ends at 3.40 pm
(Boarders return 6.00 pm Sunday 23rd April)**

 

Half Term
Saturday 27th May to Wednesday 31st May*
(Boarders’ Half Term: 3.40 pm Friday 26th May to 6.00 pm Wednesday 31st May. School Closed)**

 

Open Day
Saturday 29th April

 

Public Holidays
Monday 1st May (Labour Day)
Wednesday 10th May (Wesak Day)
Monday 12th June (Nuzul Quran)
Monday & Tuesday 26th & 27th June (Hari Raya Puasa)
Friday 7th July (Georgetown Heritage Day)

 


School ends at 4.15 pm except on all Fridays and the immediate day before a public holiday or school holiday, when it ends at 3.40pm.

*During external exam seasons, exam candidates may need to attend school during school holiday periods to take public examinations. Boarding halls will be closed and boarders will be required to find alternative accommodation requirements.

**Boarders return between 6.00 pm and 8.00 pm; with prior permission from the Head of Hall, weekly boarders may return in time for the start of school on the following day.

 

13th January 2016

Print this page