1st POWIIS Debate Championship

16 December 2019

The 1st POWIIS Debate Championship saw participation from 23 teams representing more than 10 institutions, not only from Penang but also Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Perak and Negeri Sembilan. Based on the Asian Parliamentary format and open to students in secondary schools and up, participants undergo three preliminary rounds before the top 8 teams contest a hard-fought knockout round. They were adjudicated by an experienced panel led by Albert Kamahlendra, a former Malaysian national debater.

Congratulations to the eventual winners, team “Chicken Milani”, an independent team from Perak, for winning the final and to Afrina Dayana Chairil from Kolej Tuanku Jaafar for emerging best speaker. Last but not least, well done to our senior students, Megan Lim, Euan Wong and Joshua Velten for their tremenodus efforts in organising this competition. We hope this competition will not only be a platform to develop debaters at POWIIS but also to establish our collaboration with fellow debaters across the nation.