English National Curriculum

The English National Curriculum has the potential to challenge and excite all students, whatever their interests or abilities and provides a solid framework from which to expand the skills, knowledge and understanding of all children.

The curriculum for the school children is broken down into three distinct phases called Key Stages. These are:

  1. Early Years Foundation Stage- Nursery and Reception (ages 3-5)
  2. Key Stage 1- Year 1 and Year2 (ages 5-7)
  3. Key Stage 2- Years 3-6 (ages 7-11)
  4. Key Stage 3 – Years 7-9 (ages 11-14)

The Early Years – Nursery and Reception

Four guiding principles underpin the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) setting:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • The development of positive relationships between teachers, children and parents are essential.
  • Children learn and develop in stimulating environments which respond to their individual needs.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

Providing opportunities, and the environment, for children to explore, play, and learn at POWIIS Primary.

Our Nursery and Reception unit is a stimulating child-centred environment where every child can thrive. By building positive and caring relationships, our teachers will create a warm, welcoming and secure setting in which your children feel valued. A strong partnership between home and school is a priority. In the EYFS, the curriculum covers seven areas for learning and development. These areas are planned for on a weekly basis (although amendments are often made daily) with planning remaining flexible and responsive taking into account the children’s interests.

The Seven Areas of Learning and Development

Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language Development: speaking, listening, expressing oneself in a rich language environment.
  • Physical Development: active, interactive activities developing coordination, control and movement. Also the importance of a healthy diet.
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development: developing a positive sense of self, forming positive relationships, developing respect, managing feelings and appropriate behaviours in groups

Specific Areas

  • Literacy Development: linking sounds to letters for early reading and writing, a wide range of reading materials in the environment.
  • Mathematics: developing skills in counting, using numbers, noticing patterns, describing shapes and measurements.
  • Understanding the World: making sense of the physical world, learn about the community, people and the environment.
  • Expressive Arts and Design: using and exploring a wide range of media, expression through art, music, movement, role-play and design.