Term Dates


TERM DATES 2019-2020

Click here to download the POWIIS School Term Dates 2019-2020.

Click here to download the POWIIS Primary School Term Dates 2019-2020.


Term 1

Tuesday 3rd September, 2019 to Friday 13th December, 2019: term ends at 3.30 pm

(Boarders arrive on Monday 2nd September) 

New teacher induction Monday 26th and Tuesday 27th August

Teacher training Wednesday 28th and Thursday 29th August

Half Term (including Deepavali)

Saturday 26th October to Sunday 3rd November (School Closed)**

Open Day

Saturday 5th October

Public Holidays

Monday 9th September (The Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s Birthday)

Monday 16th September (Malaysia Day)


Term 2

Monday 6th January, 2020 to Friday 3rd April, 2020: term ends at 3.30 pm

(Boarders return on Sunday 5th January)**

Long Weekend (including Chinese New Year)

Friday 24th January to Monday 27th January (Optional Boarders’ Long Weekend)

Half Term 

Saturday 15th February to Sunday 23rd February (School Closed)**

Open Day

Saturday 29th February


Term 3

Monday 20th April, 2020 to Friday 10th July, 2020: term ends at 3.30 pm

(Boarders return on Sunday 19th April)**

Half Term (including Wesak Day & Nuzul Al-Quran)

Thursday 7th May to Monday 11th May (School Closed)**

Long Weekend (including Hari Raya Aidilfitri)

Saturday 23th May to Tuesday 26th May (Optional Boarders’ Long Weekend)

Open Day

Saturday 6th June

Public Holidays

Friday 1st May (Labour Day) 

Tuesday 7th July (Georgetown World Heritage Day)


During external exam seasons, exam candidates may need to attend school during school holiday periods to take public examinations.


School ends at 4.15 pm except on all Fridays at 3.30pm.

During external exam seasons, exam candidates may need to attend school during school holiday periods to take public examinations.

** Boarders leave school before 12pm the day after school closes.

** Boarders return school after 12pm the day before school opens.

Updated on Updated on 8 October 2019